Testimonials-Reviews

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
In August 2016 I stayed around a week at Augherea Guest House.  It was easily the best and most enjoyable place I stayed in during a holiday which included time in France, England and several other parts of Ireland.  Planning this part of my trip was made easy by Matt’s prompt and courteous replies to my enquiries.  The House, set in pleasant rural surrounds, provides its guests with fresh, delicious and generous breakfasts, expertly prepared with a friendly personal touch by Matt.  To say my rooms — I stayed in two, in the refurbished Coach House — were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated is understatement; they were restful, immaculately maintained and beautifully furnished.  And Augherea Guest House, of historic interest itself, was the perfect base for days spent sightseeing around County Longford, which abounds with memorable historic sites, charming villages, scenic countryside and friendly people.  It was also a good base for day trips, by car, to places as distant as Galway and Donegal.  I had a feeling before making my booking that this place would be special.  It was, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.  Brett, Australia’
 
Stayed Aug 2016.

Had to make a stopover in Longford on the way to Sligo and consulted the great oracle that is Google. "Longford B&B" coughed up a place called Augherea Guest House which looked interesting. Rave Tripadvisor reviews encouraged me to make a booking and as I'm about to leave I'm adding to the very positive experiences of so many past visitors. The much hackneyed phrase "hidden gem" has become so devalued because many so called gems are often quite the opposite. Augherea House sets the benchmark for "hidden gem" status. It combines our rich architectural heritage with the best in contemporary design. We arrived just before midnight and as Matt welcomed us to our superb room he came with a tray of tea and freshly baked scones. Breakfast was equally superb. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple

The reviews are all true; this is a wonderful find. We were in Cty. Longford for a visit to ancestral sites and were welcomed warmly by Matt and Mary Jo. The rooms were lovely, the breakfasts terrific, the hospitality genuine. Cheers!

Just back from a night away in Longford..Augherea house was beyond expectation. It was a very pleasant experience. We felt at home immediately. The rooms were definitely of a 5 star standard..beds were the most comfortable iv slept in. The power shower was def a plus..Breakfast was pretty high standard..the porridge was to die for..I would 100% return for the hospitality alone oh and the breakfast.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
 

The best accommodation, hotel or B&B, during our holiday in Ireland. And the best breakfast, too! Augherrea is set in a historic residence but is completely modern in its furnishing, design and convenience. We had a super-large room overlooking beautiful surrounding grounds. Matt was tremendously helpful with recommendations for touring local historic sites, activities, restaurants, etc.. We enjoyed a very peaceful, and restful, stay at the Augherea and will look forward to returning when travel brings us this way again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
 

Absolutely wonderful stay. Fresh, clean, airy room with comfortable beds. The breakfast was nicely presented and tasty. I am not a big fan of porridge, but this porridge is to die for. Thank you Matt for your good tips for dinner place too. We will definitely be back when we come back to Longford next time.

Stayed: March 2017

We have spent three days at this incredible and stunning "Coach house".

A beautiful building with beautiful rooms , great breakfast and service, but the most important: Two absolutely wonderful hosts and their beloved dog "Miss Marple", who made this staying unforgetable !

For sure it wasn't the last visit in Longford and of course not the last staying at the Augherea Guest House !!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family

My mother and I stayed at the Augherea Guest House in June of 2017. After a long drive from the Dingle area we were keen to relax. Matt greeted us at the door, he was so welcoming, offering us tea and coffee. We had a great chat and he gave us some awesome dinner recommendations (Keenan's in Tarmonbarry is a must try!). We both had a special fish breakfast the first morning, presentation was great and food was awesome! Miss Marple the beautiful black lab is a muffin, we immediately fell in love with her!

The room was gorgeous, bright and open with a beautiful outlook onto the sheep. The bathroom was just as spectacular! Huge bathtub and shower, beautifully tiled and exceptionally clean! Actually everything was very clean, we honestly felt right at home.

We have stayed in a few B&Bs and this is by far the best, great location, beautiful property, room was spectacular, food brilliant but best of all was the hospitality of Matt, Mary and Miss Marple.

If we are ever back in Ireland we are 100% returning!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family