Testimonials-Reviews

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
‘In August 2016 I stayed around a week at Augherea Guest House.  It was easily the best and most enjoyable place I stayed in during a holiday which included time in France, England and several other parts of Ireland.  Planning this part of my trip was made easy by Matt’s prompt and courteous replies to my enquiries.  The House, set in pleasant rural surrounds, provides its guests with fresh, delicious and generous breakfasts, expertly prepared with a friendly personal touch by Matt.  To say my rooms — I stayed in two, in the refurbished Coach House — were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated is understatement; they were restful, immaculately maintained and beautifully furnished.  And Augherea Guest House, of historic interest itself, was the perfect base for days spent sightseeing around County Longford, which abounds with memorable historic sites, charming villages, scenic countryside and friendly people.  It was also a good base for day trips, by car, to places as distant as Galway and Donegal.  I had a feeling before making my booking that this place would be special.  It was, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.  Brett, Australia’
 
Stayed Aug 2016.

Had to make a stopover in Longford on the way to Sligo and consulted the great oracle that is Google. "Longford B&B" coughed up a place called Augherea Guest House which looked interesting. Rave Tripadvisor reviews encouraged me to make a booking and as I'm about to leave I'm adding to the very positive experiences of so many past visitors. The much hackneyed phrase "hidden gem" has become so devalued because many so called gems are often quite the opposite. Augherea House sets the benchmark for "hidden gem" status. It combines our rich architectural heritage with the best in contemporary design. We arrived just before midnight and as Matt welcomed us to our superb room he came with a tray of tea and freshly baked scones. Breakfast was equally superb. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Best B&B  27 October 2015

Stayed here with the hubby and some friends for a friends birthday a few weeks back, Matt welcomed us with fresh coffee and cup cakes. the decor was fabulous and spotless. The bedrooms were of a generous size with a walk in wardrobe. Breakfast the next morning was fab with a great selection to meet everybody's taste.. Hubby had smoked kippers and I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs cooked with love !! Matt is very accommodating for everybody's dietary needs. highly recommended

Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends
 
If you want true Irish hospitality, beautiful countryside and simply delicious breakfast this is the place to choose. Matt is a great cook and he and Nora provide such warm hospitality that you will never want to leave.
Toowoomba Qld New Zealand

 

It was approaching evening as we drove up the driveway to Augherea Guest House. In the distance I could see Augherea Guest House and exiting the car I was sure of one thing; while the photo of the house is attractive it doesn’t really capture of “feel” of the home. It is this stately, grand home designed in grace for the period of time dating back to 1775. The area surrounding the grounds adds to the charm of the entire experience.

Nora greeted us at the door with a hug and we shared conversation, hot tea and biscuits with her and Matt, while a fire burned in the fire place. The living room was like stepping back into history with furnishing of a particular time. Personal family photos were placed throughout the room making it feel like people lived there and not just guests.

We chose to stay in Augherea House which is a period home. The carriage house, where we ate our meals (more on that later) was very modern and pristine. Light flooded the area so even in Ireland’s rain it wasn’t dreary. We later visited the rooms available upstairs in the carriage house to find them also modern and pristine.

Our room in the main house was called Tree Top room (unless Matt was just pulling my leg as he sometimes did). It slept three and had a very large bathroom. The linens were lovely and the beds very comfortable. The view from our window was grand. 

The Augherea Guest House was our first stop of our trip and I can honestly say that of all the B and B’s we stayed at in both Ireland and France, no breakfast came even close to what Matt serves. He may be Master of the Manor but he is also a wonderful chef. His menu is extensive and if he isn’t too busy, he’ll make you just about anything to eat. Not only does the food taste wonderful but the presentation is excellent.

Matt was also instrumental in helping me find information I wanted regarding the town of Longford and the surrounding areas. 

If you are looking for an experience of either experiencing a bit of history or just a wonderful place to rest up and catch your breath from the busy world we live in; I suggest you visit Longford and a stay at the Augherea Guest House or Carriage House. 

Say hello to Matt and Nora for me and don’t forget to pat Miss Marple.Stayed March 2015, travelled with family

“Fab place - 10”  11th February 2015

We stayed here recently and it's just fab. The breakfast was delicious, lots to choose from!!
Would definitely return. If you want peace and quiet stay here.

 “Grand Manor, Grand Experience”

Other travelers have said it well. The manor house is beautiful and the coach house is stunning, Matt is not only an excellent cook with an eye for presentation, but he is also attentive to every detail. Our experience staying one night in the manor house was very comfortable in a quiet room with great views, luxury linens on the comfy beds, and a large and sunny bath. We were experiencing some issues with our rental car and Matt was eager to help my husband trouble-shoot the problem. Can't say enough about our short stay. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
5 of 5 stars

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending an event nearby. I have booked to stay again in a few weeks time and this reminded me that I had not posted a deserving review after my last stay. 
We stayed in the coachhouse part of the property. It is magnificently restored with a modern architectural design which does not detract from the original building. The landing forms a mezzanine floor overlooking the bright and airy dining area below. The bedroom was large with fine furnishings and a beautiful large bed. The en-suite was modern with expensive fittings, including a terrific power shower. There was also a large flat screen tv but we did not use it. Breakfast was cooked to order in front of us in the open plan kitchen, We enjoyed an excellent full irish with fresh homemade bread and freshly squeeze orange juice. This is an excellent b and b which I stumbled across on the net by chance. We are looking forward to staying again soon

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
 
 

The accommodation is stunning. The Room was big, as was the bed and it was in pristine condition. The breakfast was fabulous- fresh, tasty fruit, delicious porridge and Irish breakfast. The breakfast menu was extensive. Matt is a great host too!
This b&b shows up most hotels! A must visit

Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple